Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Hello, it’s me again October 12, 2012

Filed under: Lila,Updates — Aimee @ 10:46 am

It has been a long time since I posted here. So much has changed in our lives over the past several months. I’d like to get back to blogging about Lila and her progress regularly. She’s such a shining star and I want to remember every moment.

Overall, Lila is doing quite well. She’s a healthy, happy 2 year-old with a smile that lights up the room and can turn the worst day around in a second.

Last night, however, something really scary happened however. Lila had a probable seizure. I say “probable” because there’s no way to know for sure at this point. Based on her medical history and what I described to the doctors, they believe it was a focal/tonic seizure. We were in Target, Lila was sitting in the cart, and she starting flailing uncontrollably. I grabbed her out of the cart and she fell limp into my arms and looked at me with a blank stare. I started running out of the store with her and about halfway out, she started laughing at me. Typical Lila. So if it was a seizure, it was short and I guess that’s a good thing. We have to follow up with a neurologist next week. If she has another episode, back to the emergency room we go and Lila will likely start anti-seizure medication. I’m a nervous wreck and can hardly take my eyes off of her.

When the seizure happened, I wasn’t entirely surprised. Freaked out, but not surprised. Many kids with cerebral palsy experience seizures and I’ve counted my blessings that Lila never did. I hope and pray that this was an isolated incident.

As of this morning, Lila is back to her normal, happy self. She’s chatting up a storm and has new words daily. My current favorite: bubbles. She’s obsessed with bubbles. She also loves Mr. Potato Head, so she likes to say “hat.” Man I love her. Thank you all for your continued thoughts and prayers for my Bug. We are so lucky!

Image

Despite her surroundings, still smiling in typical Lila fashion.

 

7 Responses to “Hello, it’s me again”

  1. Jen Says:

    How scary for you, Aimee. So glad she is doing well this morning. Take care!

  2. Sam Says:

    Oh Aimee, you are so strong and such an amazing Mommy!! And that little Lila, she continues to inspire me every single day! I pray that this is figured out quickly so you have no more worries and she can just continue enjoying life the way she does! She truly is a little angel on Earth and I look forward to seeing that smile every time I open Facebook. Stay strong!! Both of you! 🙂 Love you!

  3. Sheri Says:

    YAY, for your blog again! She & you are so BEAUTIFUL! Good luck next week on your appt…..

  4. Alyce West (Tjader) Says:

    Wow, that would be scarey. I will be praying for her. I work with people who have CP and some of them have seizures and some don’t. Will be praying she won’t. love and prayers to you.

  5. Elisa Says:

    Many hopes the incident was isolated. Imagining blank-stare-Lila in Target made me hold my breath. For you both, I wish … less scares and more and more and more and more “BUBBLES!” Love you both.

  6. What a cutie pie! That sounds really scary, but at least it was minor. Here’s to hoping that was her last! If you ever need any medical or legal advice about anything cerebral palsy, definitely check out Cerebral Palsy Family Network. It’s full of useful resources – hope you find it useful! Good luck to the both of you!


Leave a Reply

