Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

NICU Day 14 September 28, 2010

Filed under: Lila,Milestones,Photo/video updates — Aimee @ 4:23 pm

Our baby girl is two weeks old already! I arrived to the hospital this morning to find my sweet girl sleeping comfortably WITHOUT her breathing tube! Lila was extubated and taken off the ventilator this morning. She’s graduated to the nasal CPAP, which delivers constant air pressure through her nose to help keep her lungs open. This is a big step up from the ventilator so we’re very excited. Now we’ll be able to hear her cry. She didn’t cry during my morning visit, but I could hear some cute little baby cooing going on. She is much happier and more comfortable without having a tube down her throat. Yeah, I probably would be too. So far, she’s doing fantastic with the changes, so we’re hopeful she will never have to be on another ventilator in her life!

As the saying goes, life in the NICU is a rollercoaster. Never did that become more apparent than today. Still flying high from the wonderful news that Lila was taken off the ventilator, the doctor gave us some difficult news and it has nothing to do with her lungs. I’m not ready to talk about it or write about it. I’m still trying to make sense of it and find the strength to be the positive and hopeful spirit that my daughter needs me to be right now. I will share more with you as soon as I’m ready, but please know that everything is ok and it’s nothing life-threatening. And as my wise, strong and amazing husband said today: “We need to hang our hats on all of the positive strides she’s made in the past four or five days.” I will try to do that today and I ask you to celebrate these milestones with us.

So with that said, here’s a photo and video that I shot last night while Lila was wide awake for my visit.

 

3 Responses to “NICU Day 14”

  1. Jessica Gessner Says:

    Remember how strong you are & have become these past few months. Without knowing what the doctors told you, I want to remind you what Miss Lila was up against & all that you and Tyler did to fight for her to be here. Doctors are so smart and they can help, but they do not know the outcome for everything. You three have already proven them wrong and beaten so many odds. You WILL find the strength to get through the next phase =) You all will !!

  2. Shanda & Glen Says:

    Wow, what a rollercoaster. The two of you are truly our hereos, and Aim, you make me so proud. I am amazed at how well your little shining star has done and have no doubt she will continue to impress! Try not to worry and fret, snuggle and hold her, read, sing. . . the rest will all fall into place – these little ones, so fragile and helpless, have a one of a kind way of teaching their parents how to put it all into perspective and about what in life is truly important. We love you so and are praying for you every second. S & G

  3. Aunt Donna Says:

    Still praying for the 3 of you. It’s great to hear baby Lila is off the vent. Can’t wait to see a picture of that beautiful face without the tubes. Stay strong, we love you all.


Leave a Reply

