Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

NICU Day 6 September 20, 2010

Filed under: Lila — Aimee @ 2:34 pm

I’m happy to report that Lila has had a couple of very good days! They are weaning her oxygen and ventilation pressure, and she seems to be handling it well. They will continue to wean slowly as long as she lets them. And she’s peeing and pooping like a champ! I never thought I’d be so happy to see poopy diapers. Her bilirubin levels are much better and hopefully she’ll be out from under the lights in the next day or two. Then she can take her glasses off, so we can see her eyes!

We’ve seen her eyes a few times — AMAZING feeling to see her open them and look at us.

Lila lost a lot of weight, which was a good thing, because she had gained about a pound of fluid weight. Poor little thing was so bloated. Once her kidneys started working better and she was able to urinate well, she lost all that fluid. She looks like a completely different baby. Now she’s gaining weight again and is 3 lbs. 11 oz., just 2 oz. shy of her birth weight. She’s also tolerating her Mommy’s breast milk well and they’ve increased her feedings quite a bit. She should start gaining weight no problem now! The ability to feed her my milk is very important to me. I was worried I wouldn’t get milk or it would take a long time to come in, because she was 9 weeks early and my body wouldn’t be ready. But pumping is going well and I’m getting more than enough milk to keep her fed.

Here’s another photo to tide you over until I can get a bunch up. I just about died when the nurse put that little pink bow in her hair. Have you ever seen anything cuter? Can’t believe she’s ours.

Life “on the outside” has been weird, difficult, nice. There have been so many changes over the past few months and especially the last week. It’s a lot to take in. The three months I missed never really set in while I was in bed, but now that I can walk outside and smell the fresh FALL air, it’s amazing to me. How did I ever stay in bed for that long? I don’t know. The thought of it now that I’m in my own bed and can come and go as I please is frightening.

I’m feeling very overwhelmed. I know that it will get better with time, but things are difficult right now. I’m so thrilled she is here and doing as well as she’s doing, but it’s tough to be without her. I can’t be the mommy I always envisioned in myself and that’s hard. But we will get there and she’ll be home before I know it. She’s a fighter. Yesterday, the doctor said, “She was very well nourished,” and that made my day. I worked so hard to keep her inside those 13 weeks.

It’s hard to stay away from the hospital, but I know I need to take some time to recover. I’ve been seeing her at least twice-a-day for a few hours at a time. I’ve probably been on my feet more than I should be, so I need to take it easy and get better. I’m still very sore from the surgery and I tire easily when I’m on my feet. Speaking of feet, mine are gigantic! I’ve never had swollen ankles, legs or feet, but I do now. Boy, do I ever! Looks like I have footballs for feet. Thank God my Mom is here to help us get things back in order. She’s cooking us meals, cleaning the house and saying all the right things when I’m having one of those days. I can’t wait until I’m feeling good enough to cook again and start getting the house ready for Lila to come home. We don’t know when that will be. Lila is in charge, but if history is any indication of the future, then she’ll be home early.

 

5 Responses to “NICU Day 6”

  1. Mary Jo Says:

    She is such a beautiful baby Aimee, and you are such a beautiful Mommy! I truly look up to you and all that you are, an amazing – absolutley AMAZING women and MOTHER!!! Lila will grow up to adore you ALL of you! I’m so happy to read pumping is going well!! What a gift -the most amazing gift you can give her…your milk, it’s so special, isn’t it! (But you know that!) You’ll cringe at the thought of ever even dumping an ounce of that away. In fact when I saw your mom awhile back, I was donating mine, about 200 ounces….and some of it went to baby’s just like Lila who are in the NICU whose Mommies couldn’t give them breastmilk. I would do it again in a heart beat! Magic juice that stuff is! If you are ever bored while you are pumping…call me, I’m probably pumping too:) haha! re-re re-re re-re haha!! 218-209-7175

  2. Kate Says:

    I am so happy for you guys!!! Your little Lila is just a champ! She is so beautiful, Aimee, and so strong! Hang in there mama, every day will get better!

  3. Stephanie Duggan Says:

    Aimee,
    Your baby girl is so cute! Hope we get to meet her someday! You will be a great mom and those ankles will go down! Mine were so swoolen too. It took a few days, but one night, just sweat it all out. I had to change my PJ’s twice during the night! You will get to feeling back to normal soon. I know what it feels like to have had a c-section, but no idea what it’s like to have a baby in the NICU. If you ever want some one to talk to who is going through the same thing as you, I have a co-worker who just brought her son home from the NICU in Michigan where they were vacationing over the 4th of July, when she had him. Also had another co-worker who went through this a couple years ago. Anyway, I can put you in touch with them if you are interested. Please let me know if there is anyhing I can do for you! Take care! You will be a great mom!
    ~Stephanie

  4. Katie (Hecht) Anderson Says:

    LOVE her little pink bow! She is so precious! Keep fighting mommy and baby girl and we will keep praying! Love, Ryan, Katie, and the boys!

  5. Amiee F. Says:

    I can’t imagine what you’re feeling right now, knowing this beautiful babe is finally here and has gone through so much along with you, yet you still have so much more waiting to endure. on a lighter note: It’s absolutely fantastic that she’s getting your milk! I had been wondering if she’d be able to. i hope you’re resting well and feeling good, before you know it you’ll have your hands full with mommy duties, so take this time to relax! xoxo


Leave a Reply

