Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Day 84: 30 weeks … the anti-Labor day September 6, 2010

Filed under: Milestones,Photo/video updates — Aimee @ 11:26 pm

The night before I reached 24 weeks, T and I celebrated with sparkling pear juice in bed … in REAL wine glasses! Well we did the same tonight, except we were in the hospital and had to ask the nurses to hunt down some little plastic punch cups for us.

So here we are at 30 weeks and I should’ve been ecstatic, but instead I was pretty blue most of the day. I won’t get into the many reasons as to why, but the kicker was learning that one of my fellow pPROM mamas gave birth to her baby girl last week at 30 weeks and lost her. Being 30 weeks, this is very tough to swallow and it launched me into a good crying session. Thank God my husband was around all day to once again pick me up.

We went for a wheelchair ride outside and this time I even remembered to bring some pretzels for the sparrows. Except there were no sparrows. Feeding the birds has become a favorite hobby of mine here at Abbott, but they were nowhere to be seen. What, did they already fly south for the winter?! Last time I was outside it was summer, but today as I rolled across the pavement, I smelled and felt a new fall season in the air. It will be a summer to remember, that’s for sure.

The day ended better than it began. Dinner with my husband, snuggles with my dog, cherries and sparkling pear juice for dessert, and a movie. What more can a girl ask for? Plus, I got a good laugh watching Tyler try to get the bottle of juice open. He finally did, but not before I managed to catch the entire struggle on video. πŸ™‚

Happy Labor Day everyone. Thankfully, I am showing no signs of labor, but am definitely showing! How did I get so HUGE?! Lets not worry about that right now and instead, focus on the beautiful growing baby inside of me. So so proud of her. Oh, and the picture with the Kotex? Lets just say I should’ve bought stock in the company.

 

4 Responses to “Day 84: 30 weeks … the anti-Labor day”

  1. Mary (Loumary) Says:

    Hi Aimee,

    30 weeks is great. Try not to be despondent at hearing sad stories. I have searched an awful lot for stories similar to my own sad story and it seems to me that in most cases when you get as far as you, even with pprom and little fluid the story is a success.

    It is a struggle but it will be worth it.

  2. Ma T Says:

    Aimee you look great! As always! Congrats on 30 weeks. Another major milestone reached. You are doing an incredible job of keeping that little girl baking. Love, love, LOVE the photos! We love you all!

  3. Jessica Says:

    Yay for 30w1d now!! I just read Elisa’s update on Bennett’s birth & I thought of you. You have made it so far & it seems as though the BC site will get to have your happy story in a few weeks (hopefully not for 4 more)! πŸ™‚

    You make me nervous when you say you’ve had no signs of labor/contractions, you better be knocking on wood after you write that πŸ˜‰

    I laughed out loud when I saw your picture with the Kotex…. An inside joke for pprom moms :-). I’m still using them, 3 weeks after my c-section ( but should be done soon). I’m not sure what it feels like to just wear underwear, I suppose it will take a few days to get readjusted, but looking forward to it nonetheless!

    If you need anything to help pass the time in the hospital, just let me know. I’m sure you’ve had a hundred offers, but make it a hundred & one :). Even if you just need to vent, whine, scream… I know how bed rest can make you feel crazy… so, no judging on my part πŸ™‚

    Keep baking & I send you wishes of hours & days flying by !

    Jessica Gessner

  4. Kate Says:

    Hang in there, mama!!! You look great!! Don’t worry about getting huge, I gained 55 lbs and Stella was only 6 pounds 15 oz, 5 months later and I only have 7 pounds till pre preg weight. It will come off quicker than you think.
    Thinking about you guys every day ❀


Leave a Reply

