Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Day 83: Productive bedrester no more September 5, 2010

Filed under: Bedrest — Aimee @ 12:18 pm

It feels like I’m a kid again and my Mom just told me I can’t go ride my bike. With 30 weeks coming up tomorrow and 12 weeks of bedrest under my belt, I took a shot in the dark this morning and asked the doctor if I could start taking short walks outside of my room. She responding with a resounding “No! But how ’bout a nice wheelchair ride!?” She told me patients with ruptured membranes are at risk of cord prolapse, which means the umbilical cord slips through the cervix. Not a good thing. The baby’s in breech position, putting me at further risk. She added, “Plus, you’re already getting up to use the bathroom. That’s more than enough.”

I’m thrilled to be at 30 weeks tomorrow, but this is getting really hard. I’m so ready to get out of here and become a member of society again. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for the incredible amount of time I’ve somehow managed to allow this baby girl to grow inside of me, but my sanity is tested every day. I’ve lost all motivation to be a productive bedrester. Just like in real life I have a long list of to-do’s that’s not getting any shorter, except I can’t use the excuse that I haven’t had time. I just don’t have the desire. No desire to knit, read, clean up my address book, pay bills, organize my computer hard drive, update the blog, etc. I’ve spent the past week just laying here watching Netflix on my computer. Perhaps I’m just in a rut and today’s the day I come out of it!

I did manage to be productive in one area  — party planning. I threw T a surprise 30th birthday party here in the hospital. It had been in the works for weeks! Now, this wasn’t your ordinary 30th birthday, more like a party fit for an 8-year-old boy. My sister helped a lot and decorated the party room. We had streamers, noise makers, pizza and a baseball-decorated cake. I got him a 1991 World Series Kirby Puckett jersey, five tickets to Friday’s Twins game, preceded by a personal tour of Target Field. The boys had their outing the other night and it sounds like they all had a great time. Imagine how nice a wife I’d be if I laid in bed with nothing to do forever? We shot some video and pictures, so I’ll try to get those up here as soon as I find some motivation.

Nothing new to report regarding the baby. Everything is status quo, which is a very good thing. The doctors will go ahead and schedule my delivery — likely a c-section — for 34 weeks, which is Oct. 4 … less than a month away! That is, unless I go into labor before then. This is an amazing feeling, because there’s now an end in sight, something that seemed impossible 12 weeks ago. It’s also scary because I just don’t know what the end result will be. I can say that I’m ready to go home and prepare for my baby’s homecoming. Deep inside my heart and soul I know we are going to have our baby girl at home with us for Thanksgiving.

 

2 Responses to “Day 83: Productive bedrester no more”

  1. Amy-

    My Delia and I root for you everyday! I wanted to let you know the lack of motivation feeling iscompletely normal. When I was about 30 weeks along I didn’t want to do anything besides rest either. The good news is that desire to rest will turn into a desire to nest right about the time you have her! Is there a way to send you a small package at the hospital? We’d really like to if it is possible :-).

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you!
    Our confidence and optimism as well!

  2. london Says:

    happy 30 weeks! i am so proud of you!!!


Leave a Reply

