Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Day 70: 28 weeks!!! August 23, 2010

Filed under: Milestones,Updates — Aimee @ 9:48 pm

I was just about to send this post through tonight when three of my gal pals and my little sister walked through my door surprising me with cupcakes and the finest sparkling cider that money can buy! Happy 28 weeks! Their visit lifted my spirit so much, so many thanks to them and to my husband for setting up this little surprise. What a stinker!

I’m kind of at a loss for words, but 28 weeks is a big deal! The chances for survival and life without long-term disability are exponentially better now than they were at 24 weeks when I arrived to the hospital. Although I’m soooo excited about how far we’ve come, my thoughts today have been with another one of my pPROM moms who lost her baby this weekend at 23 weeks and three days. I try to remind myself that for every sad story of honor, there are three stories of tiny miracles.

I spoke to one of the perinatologists this morning about getting a second round of steroids (to stimulate lung maturity) before the baby decides to come. It’s difficult to explain,but I’ll do my best. With the steroids, they need to be given 24 to 48 hours before delivery to be effective. This is tricky, because it’s impossible to predict labor. They won’t give me the boosters right now, because I’m showing no signs of eminent labor and the steroids can also spark an infection. If I have another bleeding episode or start contractions, they’ll likely administer the steroids.

To celebrate this magnificent milestone, we wanted to thank the doctors and nurses here at Abbott for taking such good care of me. T brought in cookies from Wuollet’s Bakery.

To go along with this big milestone, here’s a picture of my BIG belly. During Friday’s growth ultrasound, we’ll find out how much the baby weighs and how she’s doing. But by the size of her mommy, it’s pretty obvious this little girl is growing just fine! Go Baby Girl Tjader!!! Thank you all again and again for your love and support. I love to read your comments. Cheers to making it six more weeks!!!

 

10 Responses to “Day 70: 28 weeks!!!”

  1. Ma T Says:

    Aimee, you look beautiful! And we wish we could have been with you for today’s milestone celebration. We were with you in spirit. We celebrate each day with you all. You and Tyler and Baby Girl Tjader continue to awe us with your strength and conviction on a daily basis. We are so proud of all of you! We love you all! Ma and Pa T

  2. Megan Says:

    Tyler is a pretty amazing husband to think about setting up a surprise visit like that. I could see how much your face lit up when we walked in. Maybe it was the company or maybe it was just the cupcakes but I’m so glad we could cheer you up and lift your spirits. You look beautiful, sissy! Love you!

  3. Mary Jo Says:

    Kate Ringle’s little guy was born at 29 weeks, weighing a whopping 3 lbs and is a healthy little rugrat who is as spunky as ever!! You have made a HUGE milestone and I’m so proud of all your positivity even in the midst of some scary moments, this little girl is just like her mommy a true fighter!! I can’t wait to see week 29!! You look hugely pregnant and beautiful Aimee, you are doing amazing!!!

  4. Aunt Donna Says:

    Hey Aimee, I agree with the earlier post voting you “mother of the year”. You have my vote. You are so beautiful and so strong. This little girl is so lucky to have you. I can only imangine what you are going through and I’m sure my imagination can’t compare to your “real”. When you are feeling low on strength and courage, borrow some from your mother. She is the strongest and most couragous to ever come into my life. Like her, you are beautiful and strong and you have the attitude it takes to do this. That’s why God picked you to be this childs mother. You have done an amazing job and thank you so much for sharing this journey with us. Reading your blogs keep me grounded. I am living proof that miracles do happen. I was a premie too and that was more than 40 years ago. Medical science has advanced 10 fold since then. Make you a “do not disturb” sign, and the next time you want a nap or just to be left alone, hang it on your door. Tell the nurses, unless it is absolutely necessary that you be bothered, not to let anyone enter your room while the sign is up. They should respect your wishes. Keep up the good work, continue to stay positive and remember your family in Maryland is praying for the 3 of you and we love you.

  5. Lisa Johnson Says:

    Aimee,

    You amaze me each posting. Your updates are so positive and touching. It makes me proud to call you my friend. I think about you daily, and pray for you often. Keep us posted. Stay strong.

  6. Karen Lundegaard Says:

    Aimee.

    Such great news! I’ve been reading your blog and talking to some of your visitors from here. It’s quite the amazing journey you’re on. You’re writing about it with such honesty and emotion. I’m always looking forward to the next post–hoping it will be more good news. And again it was. Congrats!

    Karen

  7. Amiee F. Says:

    You’re doing so well Aimee. I love reading your blog, pure, raw emotion, you’re a great writer. Do you keep a journal for baby? Keep it up Aimee! xo

  8. Deb Stealey Says:

    Dear Aimee,Tyler and BabyTjader,
    I just read your most recent blog. I have to admit that I have some catching up to do as I have not read every entry. Aimee, you are a wonderful writer and I am so happy that you have shared your journey, not just for others, but I really feel it has been so therapeutic for you. Pregnancy is such an amazing time and you have been faced with more time on your hands then you probably have known what to do with. That said, that time has given you and Tyler, from my perspective, a special gift that I will share with you the next time I am sitting on your bed! I think of you, Tyler and Baby EVERYDAY. Honestly. Pepperoni rolls soon :)….You are all growing strong. Sending you all hugs.

  9. Jessica Weiss Says:

    Congratulations Aimee on making it to 28 weeks!! What a huge and miraculous milestone! I am so proud of you!! You and your baby are doing so great! I think of you both so often, especially since Caleb’s birthday is coming up tomorrow. He was born at 28 weeks and 5 days and he is such a bundle of joy. He is quite the charmer with his bold but sometimes bashful personality and he is crawling all over the place now. He loves wrestling and loves swimming for toys in the tub. Oh and just wait until you hear his laugh, it is so contagious! I am so sure that your baby girl is going to be quite the star as well. There is something very unique and special about pPROM babies. My in-laws (from MN) are currently staying with us and they can’t get over how well-behaved and happy Caleb is. The other week he had an ear infection and the only way we knew was because he kept rubbing his left ear. He had also been running a fever, but you could never tell by his behavior.

    Don’t worry about the bleeding. It is scary, but yes, common. As long as the baby is still in there and the heart rate is good then you can sit back and relax. πŸ™‚

    As far as steriods, I had one round done at 24 weeks and that was it. Some doctors say that two rounds should be max. After that the change of negative side effects on the baby is too great.

    And don’t worry about the hospital bills. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11.

    Here are some other important verses to stand on during this time:

    “Pour out your heart like water before the Lord. Lift your hands toward Him for the life of your young children.” Lamenations 2:19

    “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last.” John 15:16

    “A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.” Psalm 91:7

    “Coming up behind Jesus, she touched the fringe of his robe. Immediately the bleeding stopped.” :Luke 8:44
    “Daughter,” he said to her, “your faith has made you well. Go in peace.” Luke 8:48

    Ok, I better stop there. πŸ™‚ I’ll have more for you later. Have a great night and again, congratulations!!!

  10. Jessica Weiss Says:

    Hi Again!

    I wanted to share another thing with you. It is the documentary that our church filmed about Caleb’s story. The video is a bit shaky and they had some technical difficulties, but it still gets to the point. πŸ™‚ If anything, it will give you 15 minutes of something to do. πŸ™‚

    I hope you enjoy!!

    Jessica


Leave a Reply

