Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Day 53: growth ultrasound August 6, 2010

Filed under: Updates — Aimee @ 9:34 pm

We had the big growth ultrasound today. Unfortunately, there was very little fluid around Baby Tjader, but we saw a full bladder so we know she’s taking in fluid and peeing like she should. The baby’s estimated weight is 1 pound, 10 ounces, which is right on track for a 25-weeker. Gestationally, she’s measuring a week behind, but at this point in pregnancy anything within two weeks of actual gestational age is normal. Babe is still breech, but everything else looked great. We could see that she was practice breathing and even saw her scratch her head. Ha ha! Must be a thinker like her mommy!

Ok, so I wasn’t going to make a big announcement about it, but yes … IT’S A GIRL!!! The reason I’m hesitant to spread the news far and wide is because the doctor and ultrasound tech weren’t positive about the gender, but they both think it’s a girl. I know that gender guesses can be wrong for anyone, but in my case, the chance for error is even greater. Without fluid around the baby, it’s hard to get a good look at things. I compared my ultrasound picture with some I found online and I think we have a girl here. 🙂 I’m going to cherish the idea of having a daughter, and because I don’t want to continue referring to her as “he/she” in this blog, you all get to share the news, too. Just keep in mind that we could still be surprised when this baby gets here.

I’d like to give the award for correctly guessing the gender to my 4-year-old niece, Jenna. She told me I’m having a girl and should name her Strawberry Shortcake!

In other hospital happenings, I got to go outside today! Two of my former co-workers who’ve remained lovely ladies in my life came to visit, brought me two pieces of cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory and wheeled me outside to enjoy the most perfect Minneapolis day. Thank you Sally and Lisa!

Tyler brought Russell by for a visit after work, but now they’re gone and I’m watching the Twins … woo hoo! They just tied it up! Hold on, Mauer’s up. Fly ball to left, caught. I guess I better log off and watch the end of this game. I’ll post again tomorrow. I took some pictures of my new digs and will share them. Have a great weekend everyone!

Here’s me today at 25 weeks, 4 days:

 

3 Responses to “Day 53: growth ultrasound”

  1. Ma T Says:

    Wonderful news. So glad that all went well today with the u/s and that little girl is right on target! AND, you look beautiful!!! Can’t wait to see the u/s picture! Love you lots. Ma and Pa

  2. BJ Says:

    I am proud of you Aim and I love you more than ever! I am so glad you are doing this blog, I read it and re-read it all the time! It helps me put things into perspective…ya know!?

    So Sam got your message about Jenna guessing right on the baby being a girl, I looked at her and told her that she won a prize and when I told her she was right about your baby being a girl, she looked at me and said “I told ya!” Unreal.

    Mom and dad picked up the kids tonight and of course Kaleb had to go potty on the side of the road. Apparently, doing so with shorts and flip flops on just isn’t right! So, right there on the side of the road, he pulled off his shorts, underwear and flip flops and then put his shirt under his chin and just stood there. He turned around to look at the cars quite a bit too, but then figured he didn’t have to go after all! I am just glad I didn’t get locked out of my truck this time.

    Anyway, I hope you are getting some rest! Miss you guys lots, love you more! All 3 of you are doing great, but know I am here if you need anything, even just to talk!

  3. laurie Says:

    a girl! lovely news! (though a boy would be lovely too.) good job on sitting still and growing. keep at it!


Leave a Reply

