Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Day 49: Celebrating five weeks with a cupcake August 2, 2010

Filed under: Milestones — Aimee @ 7:27 pm

Twenty-five weeks! Every new week is a gift and reason to celebrate. To treat it as such, I reigned in the day with a cupcake first thing this morning. Not in the literal sense — more in the weird dream that I’ve been analyzing all day sense. Let me explain.

In my dream this morning, I was treating everyone around me horribly. I was out of the hospital and I don’t know whether I’d had the baby or not, but I was bitter and keeping all of my emotions bottled up. Suddenly I’m on a road trip with my Mom and my Auntie, and we stop at a little restaurant/shop. Mom orders regular-size cupcakes for everyone, but orders me a miniature one. I was upset about this. I go off to look at a section of the store that has clothes and items for women who don’t ever want to be pregnant again. While browsing through the selection, I overhear Mom telling Auntie about what I’d been through. I broke down and started to bawl. I woke up myself and Tyler crying hysterically.

I think there’s a few things to take away from that dream. I either REALLY want a cupcake, or I have anxiety about having a premature baby. “Everyone else gets a big cupcake, why don’t I?” Second, the dream was the first time I’ve cried in awhile. Maybe my mind is instinctively telling me I need to do a better job of really feeling what I’m going through. Something to sleep on…

It was really a good day spent with T. We took a nap together, ate three meals together and he’ll be back tonight to sleep. My favorite doctor came in this morning  — by the way, he wears a bow-tie — and said he couldn’t be happier about how things are going. Baby T continues to get an A+ on each non-stress test and I continue to feel my little sweet pea move all the time.

I don’t want to give myself false hope, because I know exactly what we’re up against, but I need these little milestones and positive signs to get me from one week to the next. Cheers to 25 weeks!

 

8 Responses to “Day 49: Celebrating five weeks with a cupcake”

  1. Lora Says:

    Happy 25 weeks! You’re such a cute pregnant lady. Glad you liked the muffins.

  2. Pa T Says:

    Big cupcakes are over-rated. They can be tough to get out of the oven. The world is getting smaller. Cars are getting smaller. The time is right for smaller cupcakes. I’d be down with it.

  3. Andrea Stennes Says:

    Here’s to the little milestones and positive signs!! Each one is a reason to celebrate. I love Pa T’s comment, “Big cupcakes are over-rated.” (and the reason why 🙂 Here’s to 25weeks!!

  4. Mary Jo Says:

    You should have Tyler find you the BIGGEST SOFTEST SWEETEST most DELICIOUS cupcake he can find. Then eat it! Cuz you know what, you GET to have your cupcake and EAT it too! AND That lil’ cupcake of yours in there is getting bigger and bigger everyday. 25 weeks is HUGE!! My goodness, just think in only 5 more weeks you will be 30 weeks, that is such a huge milestone!!

  5. london Says:

    i used to dream about tiny babies all the time. like, those little kelly-sized barbie dolls. in my dream the doctor would hand me this odd baby and they’d say how perfect it was and i would be freaking out… like in a twilight zone episode. it’s stress. the subconscious mind is trying to juggle all the stuff that’s happening and you end up with weird dreams.

    thinking about you and sending lots of love and happy thoughts!

  6. Kate Says:

    Ohhhh, the weird dreams are a good sign, infact, normal! The stress for sure but man I never had weirder dreams than when I was pregnant, so vivid!!! 25 weeks is huge mama!!! congratulations!!!!

  7. Nana Says:

    I talked to Auntie and she says you will never get the biggest cupcake when her and I are around!!! She thinks that the dream is just about us being pigs!! ;o)

    Seriously, tho’, you are likely to have many more of these weird dreams. Don’t over-analyze them, it’ll make you crazy. I prefer to think that your dream meant that you deserve the big cupcake for all that you’re going through.

    This baby has already shown us he/she is a determined little one. We will all keep saying our prayers that the next few weeks are uneventful in all regards. Time is definitely our friend. As well as Faith, Hope and Love.

    “Mighty things from small beginnings grow.” John Dryden (British Poet)…….

    • Bethany Allen Says:

      I am glad you and baby are doing great…..ive been reading your journey, and am praying for you and your baby.
      On to your dream…eat a cupcake! I am going into psychology, and learned about dreams a couple of years ago. You are anxious about having the baby early, and if the baby is early, he/she will be small. Try not to be too worried….I know thats hard to do, but baby can detect every feeling you have…just try to stay calm. Try falling asleep thinking about the wonderful feelings you had when you learned your were pregnant, and how great it makes you feel, when you feel your baby move around…

      I hope this helps…..take care…Bethany


Leave a Reply

