Baby Tjader's Journey

A life undefined by pPROM, prematurity and Cerebral Palsy.

Our new reality June 22, 2010

Filed under: Bedrest — Aimee @ 8:52 pm

My dear husband deserves a medal. And a vacation. I’ve been on bedrest for a week and so far, it hasn’t been too bad, only because of the generosity of family, friends and coworkers. After working long hours, Tyler gets home and has to worry about me, the dogs and the house. Not to mention his lunch breaks are now spent driving home to make sure I get something to eat and the dogs get let outside. And, before he leaves for work in the morning he walks the dogs and brings me breakfast in bed. Luckily and thankfully, a few people have dropped by with lunches and dinners and that’s been a big help. For all of the wonderful things he is, the last thing Tyler needs to be when he gets home at 8 p.m., is top chef.

I’m passing the time with books, movies, bad TV, naps and plenty of Internet time. This blog is a great outlet for me as I already miss writing for work, so thank you for reading. A girlfriend brought me the entire Sex and the City series and the first movie. I never got into the TV show, but I hear it’s a great, mindless way to pass some time. Can’t wait to get into it. (Thanks Lora!)

The highlight of my week was Sunday, Tyler’s day off. It was a gorgeous day in Minneapolis, so Tyler set up the backyard with chairs, including a reclining lawn chair with pillows for me. I laid out there for hours and visited with friends Isaac, Laura and Addie, and my sissy, Meg.

Spending most of my time in the horizontal position on a recliner indoors really puts life into perspective. When I get on the other side of all of this, I plan to fully take advantage of my surroundings WITH all of the people I love, especially Tyler and Baby Tjader.

 

2 Responses to “Our new reality”

  1. Nana B Says:

    You totally amaze me!!! It is so hard to see your child struggling and scared. But you awe me with your strength and resolve. You are doing just what I would have expected–you have accepted what is and will continue to do what you have to do without complaint. And are always so appreciative of what others do for you. I am so proud of you and I know that you have the best support and care from your wonderful husband. I love you guys!
    Mom

  2. Ma T Says:

    We too are in awe of your strength, and we are so proud of you both for being there for each other. You will get through this with each other, and the love and support of your families and friends. We love you both so much, and will keep sending you our strength, good karma, good vibes and much love.
    Ma T


Leave a Reply

